Copyright (c) 1995 by Scott D. Orr (sdorr@ix.netcom.com) wrote: Here's somethign I thought up with the help of Peter von Kleinsmid. The idea is to solve the problem of characters being able to turn around and leave in the middle of a fight. Pressed Attack This Special Maneuver represents an attempt to "press home" an attack, in effect transforming a regular attack into an All-Out Attack (though a Pressed Attack entails certain disadvantages that an All-Out Attack does not -- see below). It's a risky tactic, and should only be used to repeat an attack that took place under particularly favorable circumstances (such as after a very successful feint), or against an opponent who is attempting to flee. At any time during a turn in which you have attacked (or Feinted, successfully or not) an opponent with a Step and Attack or Step and Feint manuever, you may "borrow" an attack from your next turn, using it just like a Wait attack, to attack the same opponent. Except as stated in this rule, the attack must abide by the restrictions that apply to the Step and Attack maneuver, and you must have a ready weapon with which to make the attack (unless, of course, you are attacking bare-handed). If your opponent Retreated in defending against your first attack, you may (if you wish) Step one hex toward your opponent before making your Pressed Attack; otherwise, you may not move or change facing before making the attack, and you may not do so after the attack, until the start of your next turn. If your opponent Retreated from your first attack and has not yet begun his next turn after that attack, he may add the Retreat bonus to any Active Defense against your Pressed Attack (just as he would be entitled to do against the second attack of an All-Out Attack). Using a Pressed Attack prevents you from using _any_ active defenses for the remainder of your turn. On your next turn, you have one less attack than you would normally have, though you must take a maneuver that would otherwise allow you at least one attack other than a Wild Swing (there is no requirement that you actually have an enemy in range of your weapon or in one of your front hexes -- your opponent can't make you violate the rules just by running away!). Since a Pressed Attack is essentially a continuation of an earlier attack, you may not take this maneuver if you yourself have been hit by an attack, used an active defense, or been _successfully_ Feinted against (by _any_ opponent, by _any_ means) in the time since you made your first attack. >